It Never Rains In London

I love you, Chicago, I do.

But I’ve been wanting to write about what it was like to live and breathe in my favorite European city for a while now.

London. When you’re there, you have the freedom to be whoever you want to be. Truly.

Will a frothy pint make your morning brighter? Go ahead and drink up then. Will wearing a gaudy outfit that Cyndi Lauper would approve of give you the self esteem you need? Wear it, love.

Honestly, I can’t believe it’s been 3 years since I’ve had a proper English breakfast….

Since I’ve walked through the streets of Camden Town, meeting people from all over the UK and learning what the word “oneness” really meant…

In London, you are free to be the person you want to  be because “ain’t nobody got time” to criticize you. Everyone’s too busy thinking about their mother’s Sunday roast or about the new guy that got arrested on Eastenders. Watching British soap operas, by the way, can give you so much insight on English culture and how these people persevere from day to day.They have a uniquely interesting way of uplifting each other with cheeky humor and soft criticisms. Check out an episode of even a non soap-y British show like Misfits or Shameless and you’ll totally see what I’m talking about.

The English are a strong, highly-spirited, and loving bunch who I miss so dearly it hurts. I can not wait to be back in their fold again. Eating treacle tarts a la Harry Potter. 😀

I see I’m getting side-tracked now. It’s just that whenever I think about how happy I was living in my aunt’s flat in Bedfordshire, a short 40 km from the city of London, I get goosebumps. I felt like I was daydreaming the entire time I was there.

Anyway, the post that I intend to write will be worked on and posted sometime soon. It might end up looking like one of those ‘top ten things I like about this city’ write-ups. Or I could dive into the story of how I gave love a chance when I was there.

Hmm. Maybe I’ll do a hybrid of the two?

Stay tuned.

“When you’re in London, no one will even try to rain on your parade.”

 

Cheers,

Jenni

Leave a Reply

