Yoga = Clarity + Commitment + Courage

When I think of yoga, these three C’s are what come to mind. I know that when I enter my daily practice or start a new flow sequence from my favorite online Canadian yoga teacher, I’m able to do things that I never thought possible. When I begin my practice with a mantra, a verbal talisman that directs my energy towards whatever I hope to accomplish in that hour, I’m able to achieve a sense of clarity that reminds me of why I love yoga so much. Having a quiet mind is something I aim for on the daily because I’m a big overthinker. I’m constantly analyzing and rationalizing everything that has happened through out my day or wondering about what’s going to happen tomorrow. I enter into a spiral of thoughts that, at times, makes me feel like I’m not in control of my thinking box. I’ve discovered techniques that have come to me through my devotion to kundalini yoga, also known as the yoga for awareness and consciousness. These techniques prevent me from getting to the point where I’m having an anxiety attack about things that don’t have anything to do with me. I can still feel and be who I am, but I’ve distanced myself emotionally. Simply put, creating boundaries and having principles that guide my way of living has made me a better person. All it took was understanding that it takes commitment and courage to do what I knew was best for me. Remembering to be present in every waking moment I have has given me the agency I thought I had lost, the innocence that I forgot about, and the capacity to love myself no matter what. Yes, sometimes I forget to be compassionate towards myself. But when I step on to my yoga mat, the only person that matters at the moment is myself. The only person that I’m thinking about is myself. And that’s ok.  As I go through my asanas, breathwork, and meditation, I remember all of my positive qualities because I’m in a state of unadulterated happiness. As a matter of fact, I’m even able to embrace all parts of myself because that is what yoga is all about. Letting yourself feel, letting yourself be, and allowing yourself to be happy is something we millenials need to work on. Some say we’re the most narcissistic and needy generation, but I think those people are wrong.  We’ve been pushed into adulthood with student loan debts and a foreseeable future that is tied directly to our countrys economy. Our parents are telling us to get real jobs so we can be real people. But I ask…will that make you happy? At the end of the day, whatever we choose to commit our lives to has got to make us feel fulfilled.  Being happy is a choice. We know this now, yes? In order to be happy, you have to have the courage to find your own happiness. Find what makes YOU happy.  Recently, I’ve discovered exactly how I want to spend the next chapter of my life. I know that it’ll make me feel fulfilled because I’ll be serving others, staying true to myself and letting go of the things that society tells me I need in order to become a successful white collar professional. Yes, I do plan on being a corporate executive one day–but that doesn’t mean I have to sell my soul to the devil or become a person that doesn’t know their right from their left. Right now, I am taking the necessary steps I need to take so I can get to that fork in the road that leads me to where I want to go. That requires me to have clarity, commitment and courage. When I get on my yoga mat every single day, I remind myself that those qualities are already within me. Yoga just helps me harness it.

If  you’re waiting for validation for why you should start your own practice, I hope this post helps you see that you are capable of becoming your best self through the power of yoga. If I can do it, anyone can.

Namaste,

Jenni ❤

Leave a Reply

