Dreaming From Your Heart

Every person that we allow into our lives has in some way influenced our future without us even knowing it. Whether they’re a childhood friend or attractive lover, we carry a piece of them in our hearts forever because, at some point in time, our spirits were living on the same plane, vibrating on the same frequency that allowed our rapport to flow and our secret language to flourish. There is a mosaic of love that exists within each of our hearts and that mosaic has been pieced together by the fragments of hope, happiness, and peace that each person we’ve ever loved has given us. Some of those fragments may be bigger or brighter than others, but the point is that each person that we’ve allowed into our heart has given us a sankofa for the future. At the time we’re unaware of this, but as we get older, we see the patterns that form and see how the mosaic becomes a reflection of our true selves. “The mosaic of the heart”, sounds like a re-write of a Gloria Estefan song, I know; hopefully anyone that has ever felt their heart strings pulled will know what I’m referring to. I’ll be talking about this mosaic in future posts because I think that my own realization of how it informs our future is really important when figuring out what it is that makes us actualize our own full potential as individuals in this world.

The word “sankofa”  by the way means to reach into your heart and into your past to find what makes you the person that you are today.  A sankofa could be a moment, a feeling, or an ideal that has penetrated our being, recreating the essence of who we are. It’s true that our hearts carry memories that transform us over time, guiding us when we reach those horizons in life that lead us to a place of greatness. At this moment in my life, I feel as though its time for me to reach into my hearts very center to retrieve the sankofa that has been hiding away, waiting for the right time to be examined and used to help me translate this huge project that my mind has been putting together these past few months.

Since the beginning of summer, I’ve been grappling with this idea that I’ve been trying to fully form, wondering if it was something that I could really accomplish. This idea, which is still in its infant stages of development, is one that fills me with joy whenever I think about it. So I know its something I have to do. Whenever I read an article on Huffington Post that resonates with this idea or do a new yoga routine that opens up a new train of thought, I’m consciously and subconsciously putting together this project. This project, which I will for now call “Project XYZ”, stems from my desire to help people my age illuminate their own future and maximize their overall happiness in life. I want to help people connect to the depths of their excellence so that they can have an elevated caliber of self. Whoa there, that’s a lot of words I just strung along…but you get what I’m saying, right? For months, I’ve been scouring websites and youtube channels to see what it is that people are doing to motivate others to be the more happy and more proactive in going after their dreams. Let me tell you, there are tons of people out there that are using yoga and wellness programs to create movements around their brands to help people figure out their potential. The more people that are spreading the news that everyone can and should be happy in their lives,  the better. What I’m attempting to do…and what I’d like to accomplish…is to create a campaign that helps young people find “what makes them feel good”. Providing an online and offline resource that can help anyone, regardless of where they are in the world, create a plan to actualize their dreams and to motivate them to go after their passions. This will likely include giving daily advice, inspirational tips, and motivational tools to help any young millennial focus on the things that will get them to where they see themselves ten years from now. I’m a huge believer in living a life of design, a life that is created by you and for you. We’re are all destined for greatness…and to be “great” is to be “good” at what makes YOU feel complete. This campaign will be for those that truly want to supersede mediocrity. This campaign will be for those that see for themselves or want to see for themselves, a future that is pregnant with opportunities. Through a youtube series, multi-purpose website, and blog, I want to change how people my age view their future by changing how they interact with their present. Yes, that means fully illustrating the idea that our past does inform our future, and we have to be brave in order to examine the contents of our hearts in order to get to the places that will make us successful in the future. I’m thinking the tagline of this project would read: “What is the point of being alive if you’re not trying to do something remarkable?” This project will be launched by December of this year, but the first youtube video following my journey into this project will be up by the end of this month. “She’s in the Glow” would be a fantastic name for this project, wouldn’t it?

Hmm, I need to meditate on this I think.

3 thoughts on “Dreaming From Your Heart

  1. Oh my!! This connects with me SO much. I would love to chat about you with it! I have been dreaming and envisioning something sort of similar and would love to collaborate! It seems like we have really similar perspectives and interests and I would love to connect more. I love that you will be using youtube as well because that is a HUGE thing for me. I love the use of video and can’t even tell you how much I think youtube is an amazing tool. As I said… Would love to chat more and share some ideas!

    1. Hey there! I’m so glad to hear that you liked this post. And yes, I would love to chat sometime. It’s really awesome when you hear that other people are resonating with an idea that you’re trying to explain through a blog. This project that I’m working on is in its infant stages, so the more people I have on board to expand its vision, the better. And if more people are aspiring to inspire others, that’s a good thing for everyone!

Leave a Reply

